Krishnanattom Dance is one of the traditional art forms of Kerala, the Krishnanattom Dance is one of the most beautiful dance forms of Kerala. A dance form that originated from Koodiattayam, Krishnanattom is one of the oldest dance forms of Kerala.Krishnanattom dance in Kerala evolved from Krishnagiti a series of slokas that depicts the life story of Krishna and hence the name. It was composed by Manaveda who was the Zamorin King of Calicut in the year 1654.Krishnanattam, a dance oriented theatrical performance is the product of the Bhakti movement. Prince Manvedan of Kozhikode, Kerala, India who scripted and produced this visual treat bequeathed a unique performing art to the cultural stream of Kerala that culminated in the world renowned Kathakali. A perfect blend of traditional art of Kerala, the Krishnanattom dance has evolved a lot from the earlier years and it was from this dance form that Kathakali was inspired.The dancers who participate in the Krishnanattom dance wear masks while those who do not wear masks have specific colors which define their character.A spectacle for both the scholar and the simple rustic. The visual effect is enhanced by varied and colourful facial make-up with larger-than-life-masks, made of light wood and cloth padding, for certain characters. Krishnanattom, though boasting of a unique choreography, assumes more the nature of a Morality Play, seldom presuming to lay claim to the theatrical sophistry so integral to Kathakali and Kootiyattam. The traditional ritualistic performance lasts for eight days that depicts the birth of Lord Krishna and his ascension to heaven or Swargorohanam. In the background of Krishnanattom Dance one can get to hear traditional Kerala instruments like Maddalam, Ilathalam and Chengila. Most of the characters wear red vests and flowing 'Uthariyams'. The characters of Krishna, Arjuna and Garuda wear dark blue vests.


Krishnattam dance is another form of Kathakali, representing the various life stages of Lord Krishna. In Kerala, krishnanattam dance form still flourishes in the famous Guruvayoor Temple and other temples dedicated to Lord Krishna. The traditional Krishnattam dance is enacted as a series of 8 plays indicating the 8 main stages of lord Krishna's life. These 8 stages are:

    • Avataram
    • Kaliyamardanam
    • Rasakrida
    • Kamsavadham
    • Swayamvaram
    • Banayuddham
    • Vividavadham
    • Swargarohanam.




Related Places to Visit:

Usefull Links


Photo Gallery

Video Gallery